Join Me in the 100 Days Project

The Great Discontent's 100 Days Project. Image is copyright The Great Discontent and belongs entirely to them.

The Great Discontent’s 100 Days Project.
Image is copyright The Great Discontent and belongs entirely to them. This image is only being used for information purposes.

Looking for a creative project outside of your daily work? Want to try something new and exciting? Need motivation to stay consistent? Join me in participating in The Great Discontent’s 100 Day Project. It starts on Monday, April 6 and will continue for 100 days in a row.

Originally this was a project assigned to Yale School of Art graduate students by legendary designer Michael Beirut. They had to choose one action to repeat everyday for 100 days. Students made a poster everyday, others danced in public or made videos. It was a way to get them to be consistently creative with a new venture outside of the daily norm.

Artist and designer Elle Luna was inspired by this original concept to create her own 100 Days Project. She wanted to make it more about the creative process rather than the final results. Last year, she did 100 self portraits. This year, she is painting her dreams of travel for 100 days. Read the full interview with The Great Discontent.

By participating in the process for 100 days, you see changes not only in the quality of someone’s work, but also their lifestyle. Elle mentioned a busy mom who wanted to be an artist, but spent her time posting pictures of her kids on Instagram instead of her art. By the end of the project, she had made great art and found a way to incorporate it into her daily life with her kids.

I am a designer who has always struggled with confidence and ability when it comes to hand drawn art. I’ve always believed that I wasn’t good at it and could never put it out there. Thanks to the internet and seeing the vast styles and abilities of other artists, I am more confident that my silly doodles and uneven lines have a place in the art world. But, more importantly, I really enjoy drawing and I find it relaxing.

I spend 8 hours a day on the computer and more in the evening when I’m freelancing or trying to cram in new skills or coding. I’m too attached to my devices. I struggle with insomnia and anxiety. Drawing is the perfect outlet for me. It calms me down, gets me ready for bed, and I truly enjoy it. That is part of the reason I’ve started pursuing hand lettering this year. It combines my love of typography and the relaxation of drawing together.

So, for my 100 Days Project, I am going to do 100 Days of Travel Lettering. Each day, I am going to letter a travel destination either that I’ve been to and loved or that I’m dreaming to go to next. It’s one word each day, so it’s something I can fit into my busy schedule, but it will force me to do this every day. I’m anxious to see my lettering skills improve over the 100 days, but I also think it’s going to bring some peace and tranquility to my chaotic life.

Interested in participating? Read the full details here and sign up today. Also, be sure to get an Instagram account as you will need it to share your work everyday. Each project must have an unique hashtag, so be sure to look for mine at #100DaysofTravelLettering.

Leave a comment